Mutations in S-proteins of the new coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2): 25 mutations, including A930V, D614G, A706S, and A879S

From the RNA sequence of the new coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) registered from India in NCBI-Virus-database as of June 6, 2020, a research result has been reported on what mutations occurred compared to the original strain that began to spread in Wuhan, China.

There are 25 mutations, and they are divided into four clusters (1-100, 148-255, 570-680, 820-930).

Mutations in T572I, A879S, A892V, and A930V have caused significant changes in the secondary structure of proteins, T572I causes a structural change to coilded→helix and the other three to helix→beta sheet. Mutations in the A930V, D614G, A706S, and A879S seem to make a relatively large difference in protein structure. Of particular interest is that the mutation of D614G occurs in 88% of RNA sequences, which is a mainstream among new coronaviruses that are spreading in India. For the D614G, it is reported that it promotes the open conformation of RBD, and as a result, the infectivity of the new coronavirus is increased.

R408I, E471Q is said to be a mutation that is seen only in India.